Next Generation Scientists for Biodiesel

The next generation of science thought leaders are gearing up to lead America’s energy efforts. And biodiesel, our nation’s only commercially available advanced biofuel, is front and center.

Managed by the National Biodiesel Board, the Next Generation Scientists for Biodiesel is a free student professional organization to help foster collaboration, networking and career development.  Professors are also encouraged to join.


The deadline is Nov. 24 to apply for a travel scholarship and/or present your research or outreach project at the National Biodiesel Conference & Expo.

Apply now!
See students at the 2014 conference


Biodiesel in the Class Lab: Ensuring Safety in a Learning Environment

They may be tomorrow’s scientists, but they’re eager to make biodiesel today. Watch the webinar for important safety tips, and to learn how one high school teacher earned a $100,000 grant for a biodiesel lab!

Watch now!

Students Implore EPA Not to Stifle Career Opportunities

Four student leaders of the Next Generation Scientists for Biodiesel added their voices to a cry that biodiesel supporters hope the Environmental Protection Agency hears. The students submitted original comments to EPA staff to express their concern about the proposed cuts to the federal Renewable Fuel Standard.

Read the news release.
Read the comments.

Future Biodiesel Leaders Bring Innovative Research to Conference

Student scientists from colleges and universities across the country participated in the 2014 National Biodiesel Conference & Expo. Many students presented their research during a poster session, and a new breakout session focused solely on university biodiesel research. They also networked with top scientists in the biodiesel field.

Read, see, and hear more.

  • Coverage of the 2013 conference can be found here.
  • Coverage of the 2012 conference can be found here.

Next Generation Scientist Co-Chairs

Dan Browne, Texas A&M University (Biochemistry)

James Anderson, Southern Illinois University (Agricultural Science)

Katie Heil, University of Colorado – Boulder (Electrical Engineering)

Mike Morgan, Utah State University (Biochemistry)

Past Co-Chairs

View profiles of past co-chairs.

Founding Members

See our founding members.